March

  • As my non-fiction book this year, I read March- Book 1, by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell. I chose this book because it was non-fiction and about a topic that I’m interested in. March is an inspirational non-fiction graphic novel about John Lewis’ lifelong struggle for civil and human rights. The book starts off showing the first attempted march from Selma to Montgomery, and it’s violent outcome. It then abruptly cuts to when he is older, and a congressman and he begins to tell his inspiring life journey to two young kids, about what he and many others had to go through to get justice. It was interesting to read about his childhood, including how he and his uncle had to travel north, to find a safer place for him to grow up. In the South, there were a lot of KKK rallies and white people who threatened the lives of African-Americans. I think this move changed his life. If he had stayed in Alabama his situation would have been a lot worse, and he never would have met Martin Luther King Jr, and then become an important activist.      

    One character in this book that I would love to meet would be John Lewis.  I would want to meet him because he was such an awesome activist and civil rights leader! I would talk to him about how we can change our current political situation. I would like to hear his perspective on the government choices that have been happening and talk about what it was like for him when he was younger. I think this book is really good. I like it because it gives you a good look at what it was like to be African-American in those times how hard it was. I would definitely recommend reading this book. This book is similar to the movie Selma, except it’s the story of John Lewis. The movie Selma is centered around Martin Luther King Jr.,  but they are both based on the civil rights movement. 

    I think John Lewis wanted to make this book to share his story in a form that younger people would want to read. He wanted to share what happened because he doesn’t want people to forget what got us here.It gives young readers a look at what it was like back then.

Leave a Reply

