My Name and Me

My name is Makai Abdul Bell and I’m going to tell you all about my name and my nicknames.Makai means “facing the water” in Hawaiian. When my parents first chose my name they didn’t know what it meant, so it became something special for them.

My parents wanted a name for me that had to do with water, so I would have “flow” in my life. They looked all over the web and in books for a good name, rivers and lakes, but none of them seemed to fit. They didn’t think that names like Okavango, Zambezi, or Brahmaputra were ones that they wanted for me. So, they made a list of 10 names that they liked, and narrowed it down to three, but none of them had to do with water or flow, they thought. On the night I was born my dad held me for the first time, and my mom looked over and asked “Who is it?. My dad said “It’s Makai”. That was really special because they didn’t know what it meant, but it was perfect and had everything they wanted.

My middle name is Abdul, after my Great Uncle on my dad’s side, Abdulhamid Akoni. He was a great storyteller, activist, teacher, and was the Director of the Center for Black Studies at UCSB. Here is a video of a show that had him on as a guest-https://archive.org/details/cusb_000073My last name comes from my dad’s side. The name Bell is a French name and means handsome

Now, on to my nickname. I don’t have a lot of nicknames, but the biggest one in my family is Mak. I don’t really know how or when my parents started to call me this. It kind of just came to me. There are less used nicknames kinda like Mak Makledoodle or Makadoo, but those don’t matter. Another nickname I have is red. This is the one that the 4-5 call me. And last but not least, the one you’ve all been waiting for, Makaiue! This one I don’t particularly like, but I put up with it. I think this one is Aiden’s and Noa’s favorite.

2 comments

  1. antoniov2018 · January 21, 2016

    ur name is super duper cuul duuuuude

    Like

Leave a Reply

