The Giver

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 10.07.11 AM

The Giver is about a boy named Jonas and his life in a community with no color, feelings, or any differences. I would recommend reading this book because it is a really interesting story, and has small mysteries that keep you wondering all along the way.

I would not want to live in Jonas’ community because I wouldn’t have any of my favorite things like music and drawing! Another reason why I wouldn’t want to live in this community is because I wouldn’t have any choice in anything. I wouldn’t be able to choose what shirt I wore in the morning, or what job I would grow up to have, or my spouse, or any of things I would want.

One question I have about the book is: Do Jonas and Gabe survive, or do they starve and freeze to death?” In my opinion, I think that Jonas and Gabe make it, but I don’t know.

What I think Lois Lowry is trying to make us realize, is that our lives could be a lot worse than they are and we should be happy with what we have.

The Giver is similar to the book City of Ember because both of the communities are dystopian and the people are under tight surveillance and control.  Also in the City of Ember, like The Giver, the people in the community get their jobs assigned to them at a young age. The children of Ember originally got assigned to people who weren’t their actual parents like with the birth mothers in the Jonas’ community! The main characters also take a journey to escape for a better life with freedom and choice.

 

Leave a Reply

